Zero Draft

Very unpolished draft. 

One of the activities that puts a smile on my face is fishing. I wasn’t raised into fishing by my family, rather it become an activity that I found I enjoyed with my best friend and next-door neighbor, Tony. Our first fishing experiencing together happened at a small pond when we were both young. We didn’t know what we were doing, but we still had enough intelligence to worm the hook and cast the worm somewhat towards the middle of the pond. Tony is 3 years older than me so he probably had a little more of an idea as to what he was doing. I remember that he caught a large mouth bass, and I thought it was the biggest fish I’d ever seen in person, and for the time it probably was.

As we grew older the fish we would catch outweighed that fish by a lot, but that wasn’t really the importance of fishing. It was more so the act of getting out of the house, riding our bikes to a fishing hole and being free of any worries. 6 years ago we started fishing a lake with our other friend, Jake. We used a boat and we becoming more experienced and our tackle boxes were filling up with more artificial baits as we enjoyed using them more than live bait.

Rhetoric would come into play as I’d try to convince him that a texas-rigged (bullet weight, offshank-hook, essentially making the rig weed-less so that it can be fished in weeds and lilly pads without snags) purple rubber worm was the best bait to use on the lake. Tony on the other hand was a fan of crank baits and hard plastic baits that resembled the bait fish that Bass would feed on. He believed that they were more enjoyable because they are fished at a faster pace than rubber worms, which are usually fished very slowly and require a certain touch to make the worm look lifelike to a fish. Both of these baits worked on this particular lake, but I still found myself explaining why the rubber worm was the better bait, even when it never seemed to totally sway him over to it.

From time to time we’d both switch over to the others preferred bait, and I’d fish with a crank bait for little bit but become bored with the repetitive fast retrieves and overwhelming feeling that I was missing all the fish that were surely resting their bodies within the thicket of aquatic plants and weeds that this bait, with its exposed hooks, could not reach. Tony did the same, fishing a worm for a little bit before switching back to his preferred set up. I was never able to convince him that a rubber worm is better, just as he never could convince me that a crank bait was better. 

4 thoughts on “Zero Draft

  1. I like the story and it keeps me entertained. I think that you could mention an actual argument that one of you made. I liked the last sentence. P.S. rubber worms are the best

  2. I think the story is a good one, but try to speak more specifically about a certain time you used the rhetoric to convince him. Maybe a conversation you had or even points you would bring up to him that you thought would affect him. I really like the sentence that described the bait you used with its technical jargon which really makes you appear to be an expert on the matter and increase your ethos with the reader. Over all I was very interested and engaged the entire time.

  3. I think that you did a good job of making your description of the story pertinent and fluid. I also think that you did a good job of describing the rhetoric for the most part. I think you could expand on how you used your rhetoric to try to persuade him a little. I liked that you shared that neither one of you were able to convince the other to fully switch.

  4. I like the story. It’s fun and teaches about fishing and what it means in your life.
    I think, as an essay, it needs to be a little more focused on the attempt to persuade someone and the rhetoric used.
    I really liked all of it, actually. So, yeah. No favorite sentence, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

